Jal Pari! =P

May 24, 2009 at 7:05 pm (Uncategorized)

yellooowww!! sorry for the gap between entries. yesterday i was playing the role of  babysitter to my 3 cousins ranging fm the ages of 5 to 9… (those are the dangerous ages, mind you)..siigh, to cut a long story short, i was at my wits’ end cos apparently NOTHING was keeping these kids entertained; they wud intermittently sigh and exclaim “im bored! there’s nothing to do here!” which would inevitably send me into another neverending process of keeping them entertained while simultaneously making a complete fool outta myself. In between they did proceed to have a stuffed toy fight amongst themselves; my beloved toys, obviously, to be used as ammunition (I didnt let them touch Mr. Teddy however… oh no, NO ONE, i repeat, NO ONE touches Mr. Teddy. i dont care how cute or cuddly your teddy bear is, Mr. Teddy rules.. so there =P)..  it wasn’t a total failure though – while racking my brain on how to remove these kids’ boredom, i came up wid the idea of playing ‘Twister’.. only to remember dat i dont have the game itself. but dat dint dampen my ambitions! no sir! =P it just so happened dat i have a multicolored rug spread across my bedroom floor (THANK YOU IKEA!! =D)..therefore the game kept them busy for ages..=)

nevertheless i was extremely tired by the end of it all and wished for nothing but some relaxing time to myself. little did i know dat the fruit of my labours lay just around the corner.

after wat seemed like an ETERNITY their parents (my chacha and chachi) finally arrived after having taken their time in doing their errands (altho in my opinion it shud’ve taken alot LESS time!) . While exchanging pleasantries, they told us that a mela complete with rides such as ferris wheels and roller coasters had been set up on the main beach. They asked me whether i would like to go or not. I shrugged which signalled my assent and in a matter of just a few minutes, all of us had piled into my chacha’s car and were on our way to catch a glimpse of the apparent splendour of this mela. as soon as we reached there, i realised that we had actually gained alot more than we bargained for. Picture this ; a makeshift tent inside which there were ‘rides’ which looked like they were about to bite the dust……….literally. i mean, the rust was practically gnawing at the hinges of a few of them, so much so dat i began to fear dat they may collapse any second. A glance at the crowd there also made me want to kick myself in the shins for having insisted to wear trousers and a t-shirt. Groups of guys in threes and twos clad in skin-tight t-shirts, wearing cheap chains and jeans which threatened to drop from their waist at any moment, continued to encircle our family group; eyeing me from top to bottom as if i was about to throw a lollywood dance number right in front of them. It was at that point that i wished amongst all the other accessories i was wearing, i wore high-heeled shoes. It would’ve given me immense satisfaction to throw them at these perverts and for the heel to make contact with their faces.*wicked grin*

My chachi, who by this time felt that coming here was a big mistake and therefore desperately tried to make amends (poor woman), suggested that i go ahead and try the ‘pirate ship’ ride along wid one of my cousins.Thinking i might as well make the most of this trip just to make my chachi and chacha happy, i agreed. As we climbed into the rickety ‘pirate ship’ we looked for the best place to sit (ideally, the best place is at the back  cos as the ship goes upwards, u get butterflies in your stomach =D…. i know, im such a kid, i’l just shut up now.) It was then that i realised that there were no bars in front of the seats for any of the ride’s occupants. To my horror, the front seat provided nothing to hold onto – all that was in front of it was the nose of the ship beyond which lay a hard, cemented floor which would’ve definitely led to horrible injuries if not something worse. “What kind of monster death ride is this?!” i found myself thinking.  anyhow, after much prayer and pleas to God for mercy, the ride started and i eventually realised why there were no handle bars……… THE STUPID RIDE DIDN’T HAVE ANY SPEED!! It groaned and moaned as if it were about to deliver its last ride in its career of amusement park rides. I just kept shaking my head throughout the entire duration of it, completely bewildered at how the other occupants were screaming their heads off in apparent fear (the ‘pirate ship’ ride at Funland; now THAT’S a ride to write home about).

After all this extensive whining and intense criticism, you’d think i’ve said all that i’ve wanted to say about how this particular mela was a complete disaster. but nooooooooo!! we’re not done yet! after all there’s a reason i’ve kept the title of this post ‘jalpari’! the best is yet to come! =D

When the ‘euphoria’ of our ride wore off, i noticed a large crowd gathered at the far end of the tent. Wondering what could’ve attracted such attention, i tried to look for clues to this puzzle. i didn’t have to look far…. right above from where the large crowd was gathered, there was a large painting of a mermaid on the left of which were the words inscribed in Urdu : “jal pari”. My mouth fell open in shock but before i could relate this to my chacha, a very loud announcment came from one of the speakers. It said:

“Aayye aayye! Aayye aake Jalpari ko dekhiye! Iss ka aadha tan machli, aadha tan insaan ka hai! Qudrat ka ajooba! Yeh paani mein leti huwi hai, mast leti huwi hai! Yeh jalpari hai bhai! Sirf 10 rupees mein dekhiye aur lutf uthayye!”

…….. i was trying my level best to control my laughter, lest one of the organisers saw me and gave me a piece of their mind. “These guys have GOT to be kidding!! Do they think the public’s stupid??….. oh wait, of course they are.” i corrected myself as i saw how many people thronged the stands, shoving and pushing each other just to get a glimpse of the so-called wonder of the world.

As we left the enclosure, my chacha n chachi expressed their disappointment about the arrangements. The kids were irritable and whined how they never got a chance to experience any of the rides available. I, however, only had one thought in mind.

“….. i can’t WAIT to tell this to everyone! =D”

until next time.. ciao! =)

2 Comments

  1. maliha said,

    so u mean u didnt do a lollywood dance number? 😉 haha
    are u serious?? the had a mermaid?…lmao…u shudve called me to that mela..ahhahha..in alll my lamenesss i wudve had the time of my lifeee…ahhahha….

    • mahrukhh said,

      hehe sorry to disappoint u maliha but no… i feared i just wud not do justice to the..ahem, ‘heroines’ who work so excruciatingly hard to make a name for themselves in that business… =P hehehe seriously if u n noor were there wid me we’ve wud’ve had a ball! =D

Leave a Reply

